Educators from 19 Spring Branch ISD schools were named winners recently in the 25th annual J. Landon Short Mini-Grant program. In all, 32 winning educators shared more than $16,700 in awards designed to support teachers and innovation in SBISD.

The award program is named in memory of founding SBISD Partners in Education Advisory Board member Landon Short. Endowment funding was provided by The Robert & Janice McNair Foundation, and the Spring Branch Education Foundation and district partners Nexen and First Community Credit Union provided funding for this year’s program.

The winners were: Jacob Barton and Kandi Bartling from Cornerstone Academy; Maureen Ucles from Edgewood Elementary: Maureen Johnson from Memorial High School; Kayman McIver and Allison Kohtz from Memorial Middle School; and John Markert from Northbrook High School. Also, Sabrina Lay and Annie Mitchell from Nottingham Elementary; Omayra Hernandez from Panda Path; Theresa Schwab Trevino from Rummel Creek Elementary; and Assael Guzman and Melissa Ramirez from Sherwood Elementary.

Andrea Stallworth, Joseph Maurer, and Donna Ward from Spring Woods Middle School won grants, as did Kaitlyn Schwartz, Robin Kohler, and Jamie Flint from Spring Woods High School. Also, Suzan Lynch from Stratford High School; Betty Franklin from The Guthrie Center; and Greissy Lara from Treasure Forest Elementary.

From Westchester Academy, the winners were Katie O’Brien, Jim Isleib, Ann King and Kristin Thompson. From Westwood Elementary, grant recipients included Hector Gonzalez, Joanne Lim; and Penne Irvin. From Woodview Elementary, the winner was Cathy Roth.

Leave A Comment